From Our Customers

Flying in a Convertible
Andy and the Staff at Barrier Island Aviation were friendly. The ride in the Biplane was a little rough while we were up there, but the sights were breathtaking. We only did the 20 minute ride. It seemed a little short, but I was more focused on seeing everything. The landing was awesome and the way that Andy parked us was amazing.

Although this is a little pricey, I love to fly and have been in a lot of planes. I would recommend this for something out of the ordinary. The fit is tight in the front seat, but it brings you close and we both looked wonderful in our headgear.

Give it a try - an exciting opportunity. Enjoy the FLY!
Reviewed June 13, 2016

Trip Advisor

WWII Airplane Ride - FANTASTIC
Andy is a terrific pilot. Wife wanted an open cockpit biplane ride for her birthday and I've always wanted to ride in a WWII warbird. We got both with Andy in his 1942 Waco UPF-7. He did a great job telling us what we were flying around, circling dolphins and a shipwreck. The ride in this plane is smooth as silk and can't be beat. We were grinning ear to ear when we landed. Only disappointing part was it had to end. Highly recommend Andy and flights around Nags Head to everyone.
Reviewed June 13, 2016

Trip Advisor

Wonderful way to see the entire beauty of the Outer Banks!
We took the Cessna 206 so that our family of 4 cold fly together. The day was perfect; mother nature was happy, the water was clear and Andy made the trip over the top. Having a wonderful tour guide makes or breaks the experience and Andy definitely made the experience amazing. If we ever visit the Banks again, we will visit the Barrier Island Aviation.
Reviewed June 7, 2016

Trip Advisor

My husband and I did something we were both a bit wary of. We took a ride in a Bi Plane at the Barrier Island Aviation in Manteo, NC! It was amazing! :) The young lady at the desk was very friendly and welcoming when we entered. She inquired what we were interested in and we told her and got payment out of the way. You can choose between 8-12 minutes for $140, 20 minutes for $200, or $300 for 35 minutes. As we were unsure if we would like this, we chose the 20 minute ride. We only waited a few minutes before the gentleman came in and said he was ready for us. Our pilot was Andy, and we had a great day for this 20 minute flight…..warm and not much wind! He introduced himself and took our photo in front of the plane. Then he helped us climb into the plane. I must admit, it was a bit snug for my husband and I, but we made it. ;) He instructed us to NOT touch any of the controls. Gee, why would I ever? ;) Although I was a bit nervous my husband might knock something on his side. ;) It was such a smooth take-off, that I hardly knew we had left the ground!  I have been in some small planes, although not a 3 seater like this, but none were as smooth as this! Andy pointed out the landmarks we passed below. Ever been up in a ferris wheel with someone that did NOT want you to “rock the car”? Well, that was me today. ;) Every time Andy said, “oh, look to your left or right”, my husband would turn to look. I just wanted him to be still and not “rock the plane”… ;) In spite of my slight fears, I thoroughly enjoyed this ride and would absolutely do it again! And hopefully with Andy as our pilot! His landing was “smooth as silk”! Truly the best I’ve ever experienced! After he helped us out of the plane, I hugged him tightly….and thanked him for being a great pilot! Even if you are a wee bit nervous like I was, I highly recommend this activity! I can’t wait to do it again! Many thanks to Barrier Island Aviation and also our pilot, Andy! You’re the best!! :)
Reviewed June 2, 2016

Trip Advisor

Great ride in a vintage Waco biplane!

Nice addition to our Outer Banks vacation trip.
Nothings beats the sound of an old radial engine!
Flight was great, saw many of the Outer Banks sights.
A bit of a windy day on the ground but remarkably smooth once aloft.
A great experience to ride in a vintage Waco biplane.
Reviewed May 26, 2016

Trip Advisor

Superb experience
What better than to celebrate the Wright Brothers memorial by flying over it in an historic biplane. A truly amazing experience. The staff and pilot are very friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault it. Alan & Sue (England)
Reviewed May 24, 2016

Trip Advisor

I'm not going lie, when my husband booked this tour I was terrified. However, this was a once in a lifetime experience that I thoroughly enjoyed. The pilot was awesome, he flew us over the Wright Bros Memorial, across Jockey Ridge State Park, we saw a ship wreck off the coast and thousands of sting rays in the water. I will cherish forever.
Reviewed May 16, 2016

Trip Advisor

“Awesome flight and tour.”

Our flight was not possible for a few days due to thick clouds and rain. It was worth the wait though. Our Pilot Roy was fantastic and the tour was great. We saw some Dolphins and a lot cool stuff. The plane was an old school Cesna. We took my 3 year old son for a treat and he loved the experience.

Visited May 2016

Trip Advisor

“Fantastic Experience!”

My husband and I took an hour long trip in the Cessna down towards Cape Hatteras to celebrate our 1st Anniversary. The views were breathtaking and seeing the lighthouses & vast beaches from the air was awesome! Shipwrecks were also pointed out and some areas of fish. Our pilot was a great time and had a great sense of humor! Pointed out a lot of things. This is definitely something I would do again!

Visited April 2016

Trip Advisor

“Excellent experience”

We took 2 flights for 35 minutes each. My boyfriend and daughter took the first one and we went back a couple days later and me and his son took one as well. Great experience! The pilot is friendly and explains the sights as your flying. we took the bi-wing flight and it was amazing! We were fortunate to have great weather both days.

Visited March 2016

Trip Advisor

“Roger & Kay”
Awesome time flying over OBX very smooth and interesting. Would recommend it to anyone. Just wish we would've taken the longer flight. Will do that next year.

Trip Advisor

“Awesome! A must do for everyone ”

Decided to do this with my 2 teenage daughters since none of us had been in a plane before and I am not a big fan of heights. We did the 30 min tour and it was awesome. Andy was great! So glad we did this and can't wait to do it again.

Visited March 2016

Trip Advisor

“Plane ride”

Fun day. Talked the whole family on going up. They loved it. We will visit again next time we are in the area.

Reviewed February 21, 2016

Trip Advisor

“They flew me to VA and back! Great flights!”

Andy the pilot flew me from Ocracoke, NC to Chester, VA and picked me up and flew me back a week later. The flights were smooth and beautiful! He pointed out all the major points of interest on both trips! I will definitely fly with them again and refer them to others.
Pam with Pams Pelican B&B
Ocracoke, NC

Visited December 2015

Trip Advisor

“Our best small plane experience!”

My husband and I have been fortunate enough to take a helicopter tour over Cape Cod and the cranberry bogs, experience a glider released from a plane over Maine, and fly in a float plane in Alaska but this WWII biplane experience tops them all. I am sure that the perfect, sunny weather had something to do with it as well. It was very cool to climb into the small cockpit, put on the flight cap with headset and feel the wind on your face as you pick up speed on the runway. The 30 minute tour of Jeanette's Pier and Bodie Island lighthouse was spectacular. This was a gift from our son and what a wonderful idea! All I can say is do it!

Visited August 2015

Trip Advisor

“Great adventure, different perspective.”

We did a one hour tour, which was enough time to get from the airport all the way down to the Cape Hatteras lighthouse and back. Beautiful day, and our pilot, Andy, was a fantastic guide pointing out wrecks poking through the water and explaining what we were seeing and answering our questions. We're glad we thought of doing something like this and went up in the Cessna.

Visited November 2015

Trip Advisor

“The plane ride was great.”

Andy the pilot had all the info that you could want about the Outer Banks. We rode in the Bi-plane. What a great plane. Andy thanked us for choosing the bi-plane other wise he would not had the chance to be in the open and see the beautiful day. The only downside was the CD wasn't loaded in the recorder.
Visited October 2015

Trip Advisor

“Took TWO plane flights, both fantastic!”

My wife took the bi-plane ride. It was a truly enjoyable experience. Andy was the pilot and did a fantastic job giving her a great bi-plane ride. He banked the plane so she could see much of the island sights.
Stephanie was very helpful in the office explaining the other flights. We took the hour flight to the north. We saw dolphins, the Corolla lighthouse, the wild horses, the Wright Memorial, and Jockey Ridge Park to name some of the major features. It was a very scenic tour and we were very happy with it.
Visited November 2015

Trip Advisor

“Best way to see the Outer Banks...”


Just about every summer day I'm on the beach in Nags Head, I see the red biplane fly by. I finally got around to going up in it on a perfect October afternoon. Andy flew us over Kitty Hawk to the ocean, down to Nags Head and back to Manteo. What an experience! The plane is a work of art, the views are incredible, and the folks at Barrier Island Aviation couldn't be friendlier. A must if you're looking for a new way to see the Outer Banks.
Reviewed November 9, 2015

Trip Advisor

“GREAT flight in a VINTAGE BIPLANE”

Few things are better than flying over beautiful country in a meticulously maintained vintage (WWII) biplane. This is much superior to flying in a modern airplane or modern replica biplane. Sit where hundreds of flying cadets sat when they learned to fly in this same aircraft.

Reviewed November 1, 2015

Trip Advisor

“The flight to Hatteras”

This was a pleasant experience Andy (the pilot) was terrific took a flight to Hatteras and back saw a shipwreck ,fish and many boats. We took this flight ,Oct. 9,2015 at 1:00PM. It was a bright clear sunny day,Andy spent extra time with us. Will return next year for the Bi-plane ride.Thanks Andy. Don and Diane Yunker, Hardy Va.
Reviewed October 18, 2015

Trip Advisor

“Awesome flight, friendly pilot”
A chance to ride in a Real Authentic WWII biplane. It was fantastic! The staff and pilot were genuinely friendly and the pilot was a good guide pointing out landmarks etc. I only did the 8 minute flight but will definitely go for the longer flight on my next trip. It was an adventure for me and I thoroughly enjoyed it!
Reviewed September 14, 2015

Trip Advisor

“Awesome flight ”

We took a Cessna flight, my 7 year old son and I.
It was truly amazing and I am a pilot too.
Flew over all major landmarks in 30 minutes.
Flew over beaches, bridges, piers, Wrights Brothers' memorial and so many other areas.
Was truly smooth, professional, good services and very nice.Loved it.Our pilot had more than 1000 hours and a true pro.Big miss if you don't do this. You can see the entire landscape area.

B
Visited September 2015

Trip Advisor

“Great people, great pilot, great flight!”
We had a great time with Andy! Our tour was beautiful and we highly recommend it as a unique way to see the area!
Reviewed September 3, 2015

Trip Advisor

“You wouldn't regret it!”
I took my son on a flight for his 6th birthday. We both loved it. I unfortunately forget the owner/pilot's name but he was professional, great with my son and obviously loved what he did. It was a trip of a life time that neither of us will ever forget.
Reviewed September 3, 2015

Trip Advisor

“What A Thrill!”
This is an experience of a lifetime. To fly in a true barnstorming classic, an open cockpit biplane with the wind in your face. What a magnificent view of the Otter Banks. I will do it again next year. The price well worth the experience. You won't be disappointed. The pilot knows his stuff, excellent flight. Thanks so much for the ride of a lifetime.
Reviewed September 3, 2015

Trip Advisor

“What A Thrill!”
The Cessna tour was great. Andy, Stephanie, the pilot (forgot his name) and Jellybean (the dog) made the three of us feel very welcome and relaxed about our first flight in a small plane. Worth every penny!!! Take the 30 minute flight for $135 to get the full experience. The advertisement for a $20 air tour means 3 people for $60, and some guy got upset about that, but you will not regret taking two others on the 30 minute flight at 1,000 ft. and seeing everything around you. After the flight, try the wonderful aquarium next to the airport. Thanks Barrier Island Aviation!
Visited September 2015

Trip Advisor

“Great People”
Enjoyed the whole experience. Everyone was so nice and the plane ride was awesome!
Received a video of my ride.

Reviewed August 30, 2015

Trip Advisor

Andy was our pilot and we had a blast! We lucked out and had a beautiful day with blue green ocean! We even saw a school of drum and we saw a shipwreck. We took the 35 min ride to Oregon Inlet and it was worth it! What a rush feeling the air like that! A must at the beach.

Reviewed August 24, 2015

Trip Advisor

Andy Rosman & the entire staff are great. We look forward to our flight every year! Their flight tours are an awesome way to view the beauty the Outer Banks of NC! Looking forward to next year already!!

Reviewed August 22, 2015

Trip Advisor

My husband and I really enjoyed our flight. The pilot even took us over our home so I could get an aerial shot. It was a beautiful day! We would recommend Barrier Island Aviation to visitors and residents of the Outer Banks!

Reviewed August 21, 2015

Trip Advisor

Our first biplane ride! My husband is afraid of heights (he was sweating buckets from anxiety as we got buckled into the plane) but he sucked it up and went and said it wasn't scary at all and we both loved it!

We did the 20 minute tour. Take off and landing was so quick it was negligible so we really did spend 20 whole minutes in the air. It was a great length of time. I'm sooooo glad we didn't book the shorter ride. 20 minutes flew by. I could have gone longer.

We got lucky with perfect weather. But I really think it would have been enjoyable no matter what.

We both got to fly together in the front seat because we are petite. Keep in mind that if you're trying to get two adults into one flight on the biplane they need to be slim! We weigh 270 pounds combined and were cozy.

Reviewed August 20, 2015

Trip Advisor

“The view of OBX from 600 feet”


Our family vacations twice a year in the Outer Banks (Kill Devil Hills) of North Carolina, enjoying all of the sights that beautiful area offers. One aspect that was lacking was seeing the area and two of our favorite attractions, Bodie Lighthouse and Wright Brothers memorial from above. To accomplish this earlier this month, August 2015, we took a half-hour flight with the folks at Barrier Island Aviation. From the inquiring phone call to the landing we couldn't have been more pleased. Our 11-year old had flown before but never in a four-seater. Our pilot Kyle made him (which made his parents) very comfortable and part of the flight which was awesome. From one end of the island to the other we learned and saw everything we had missed from ground level. Great bunch of folks and we will be going back.

Visited August 2015

Trip Advisor

“Great fun”
This was a very cool experience. We went for 20 minutes. Pricey, but worthwhile. Shorter would have been too short. We could easily have stayed longer, but the 20 minute trip was enough to get comfortable with the experience and see lots of cool stuff. If there's something specific you'd like to see, be sure to tell the pilot. We were in town with a big group and some of our friends did the same tour. They loved it too.

Visited August 2015

Trip Advisor

“Amazing experience!”
We had a 30 minute Cessna flight. Our pilot, Trevor, was great! He pointed out so many landmarks as we flew, also dolphin pods and pelican flocks. Very smooth flight (I'm a nervous flyer) and it was really cool to see everything from a different viewpoint! Definitely recommended!

Visited August 2015

Trip Advisor

“Great Views of OBX”
I've taken a few flying lessons here in the past and recently took a quick 10 minute flight in the Cessna with my boyfriend. Great experience, and Andy told us a lot about the landmarks. Everyone should check this out when you're in OBX.

Visited August 2015

Trip Advisor

“Best experience ever!”
It has been my moms dream to ride in a biplane and this week we made it happen. A 10 minute trip on the biplane was $40 each but the experience was wonderful. The pilot was very patient with us as we took a hundred pictures and even offered to take some for us then helped us get comfortable in the plane. On the ride, we saw dolphins swimming in the sound below us! I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting the outer banks. My only complaint is that I wish I would have decided to go for longer. :)

Visited August 2015

Trip Advisor

“Awesome experience”
My son and I rode in the open-cockpit biplane. We chose the 10-12 minute ride, and were not disappointed. Our pilot, Andy, was great. He pointed out many areas of interest, even a shipwreck and schools of fish were visible. He took his time, and humored us with several photo opportunities. Kaitlin helped us pick out our tour of choice and optional souvenir t-shirt, very patient and friendly. I had called the next door flight company and was told they were booked. So, for us to stumble on this gem was a treat - especially since we actually flew in a genuine WWII trainer.

Reviewed August 8, 2015

Trip Advisor

“One of best things to do”
This was about 10 times more fun than I even imagined it would be. The pilot was amazing and the trip, though on a biplane, was more smooth than a commercial jet. Highly recommended, even if you're afraid of heights like I am!

Visited August 2015

Trip Advisor

“Friendly and Professional”
This was my first time flying in an open-cockpit and it was awesome! Next time I will opt for a longer flight to not only see more sights, but just for the sheer joy of flying in the WACO. I recommend Barrier to any and all visiting Manteo.

Visited July 2015

Trip Advisor

“Biplane Tour”
My son and I did the discovery tour with flying in their 1942 Waco biplane. Andy our pilot was awesome. My son cannot stop talking about it. I am seriously thinking about doing the longer tour. If you are on the fence you need to do it as it is an experience of a lifetime.

Visited July 2015

Trip Advisor

“Bi-Plane Rides”
Wow! What a great experience. Walked into the business office and from the start could see a relaxed but professional atmosphere. We were greeted at the desk and told of our reservation. We than waited at the openning of the hanger. Clean and organized. ( I'm Annalist ) The plane was in excellent condition. Enough about the business....Great plane ride and experience of the Golden Days Of Aviation. Trip was well over the time we were quoted. Pilot pointed out different points of interest. Will do it again.

Visited July 2015

Trip Advisor

“Aviation Tour of OBX”
What a fantastic experience! We have been visiting the Outer Banks for many, many years and this is the first time we have taken an aviation tour of the island. Our pilot, Trevor, was amazing and very skilled and he pointed out many landmarks on both land and sea during our two hour flight. It was so awesome seeing the lighthouses up close and getting a bird's eye view of all the towns on Hatteras Island. I would highly recommend Barrier Island Aviation to anyone seeking a fun filled adventure during their vacation...you will not be disappointed!

Visited July 2015

Trip Advisor

“Awesome tour”
Great tour! We went on the 20 minute tour and it was worth every penny. We passed our family on the beach and waved. The pilot pointed out interesting sights but did not talk our ears off.

Reviewed July 3, 2015

Trip Advisor

“Big plane rides!”
Fantastic addition to any vacation! Took my 4 year old son up and it was his dream come true: Hands on plane access, high five a real pilot, watch a dozen other planes take off and land. Is there anything else on a little boy's bucket list?

Reviewed July 1, 2015

Trip Advisor

“Bang for your buck”
Booked same day. Very personable staff and pilots. Nice tour in the biplane and my kids enjoyed the Cessna tour. Great value for great entertainment.

Reviewed July 1, 2015

Trip Advisor

“Bi plane ride”
Had a great ride! The pilot very knowledgeable and pointed out key sites to look at. Thanks again, I can now check this off my bucket list.

Reviewed June 30, 2015

Trip Advisor

“Great afternoon above OBX”
Fantastic gift from my relative. The thirty minutes went by so quick. Our pilot was very friendly and I could bring two friends along. A heckuva good time.

Reviewed June 27, 2015

Trip Advisor

“Great Time”
There is no better way to see the Outer Banks than seeing it from the sky! My family and I had an excellent 2 hr. sunset flight. The pilot was friendly, polite and seemed very knowledgeable. He seemed to genuinely want us to enjoy our flight. I'm so glad we decided to see OBX from the sky!

Reviewed June 25, 2015

Trip Advisor

“Really enjoyed!”
A great way to see the OBX. It was enjoyable, and our pilot was knowledgeable and a heck of a nice guy!

Reviewed June 22, 2015

Trip Advisor

“What flying is all about!”
This was our 4th time flying in the Waco biplane. The sound of the engine and wind rushing by is awesome and the view of the Outerbanks is just as good! Andy is a great guy and pilot. Whether you are interested in vintage aviation or sightseeing or both this is a can't miss!

Reviewed June 18, 2015

Trip Advisor

“Biplane Ride”
Excellent. Andy is great!!! GoPro video nice added value and ride was smooth and always worth the price for such a view!!
Reviewed June 15, 2015

Trip Advisor

“The most thrilling experience of my OBX vacation!”
I heard about these airplane adventure tours on the Outer Banks tourism website and doing one was on the top of my list for a must-do activity during my first time at the Outer Banks. I looked at a few of the companies offering these tours, and after calling Barrier Island Aviation and speaking to Stephanie, I decided that this was who I would be flying with. I had every intention on doing the basic 5-8 minute biplane tour, however, when we arrived at Barrier Island, Andy (the pilot), recommended the 10-12 minute tour of the town of Manteo and Jockey's Ridge and I am SO GLAD that he did! We got to see people shelling at Jockey's Ridge, three dolphins near the shore of Nag's Head, a school of skates, and a shipwreck. Andy pointed out things as we made a few passes over the ocean and Nag's Head Pier and I was able to take over 600 pictures. I would recommend Barrier Island Biplane Air Tours to anyone wishing to have an exciting experience that will last a lifetime!!! Upon leaving the airplane hangar, Stephanie gave us a DVD of our tour (included in the cost of the tour!) so that we could share it with friends and family as well as relive our adventure.
Visited June 2015

Trip Advisor

“Best Family Fun Ever!”

Two flights today with my wife and two sons. Great family fun! And what better place than the birthplace of aviation!
Visited June 2015

Trip Advisor

“Not to be missed”


What better way to see the birthplace of aviation than from a WWII biplane? A great tour from a knowledgeable guide. So much fun!
Visited May 2015

Trip Advisor

“Bi-Plane Ride”
This was such a great experience. It made you feel what it was like for WW II pilots that fought in the air. Actually wore the headgear the pilots use to use.
Visited May 2015

Trip Advisor

“THE BEST part of our trip to the Outer Banks!”

Barrier Island Aviation was friendly, reasonable, professional and just awesome! HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS to all who visit the Outer Banks! We'll do it again our next trip to OBX!!

Visited October 2014

Trip Advisor

“The best flight, pilot, and experience ever.”

Once we arrived at the hanger the pilot and the office staff made us feel like family. This is a Veteran Friendly business and they went above and far beyond what we ever expected to see on our flight. I have been on several flights commercial and non commercial and Andy was by far the best pilot I have ever flown with.
Visited October 2014

Trip Advisor

The staff at Barrier Island Aviation are very nice and welcoming. I went on my first aerial tour today...was very nervous but our pilot Ryan was awesome and made my trip very comfortable. I highly recommend Barrier Island Aviation aerial tours a must do on the vacation plans.

Reviewed October 16, 2014

Trip Advisor

This is the best thing to do while on the island. The pilot is one of the best i have flown with, i have flown alot! It was my husbands & kids 1st time, he made it enjoyable for the whole family. The sights are unbelievably beautiful. Do it first or do it last, just do it. You will not regret it! We can't wait to do it again!



Visited October 2014

Trip Advisor

This was a great experience. This is a nice way to spend the day with family. Andy was very friendly and courteous. Couldn't ask for a better experience.

Trip Advisor

When your Red Baron instinct flares-up , this is the place & ride to do . Extremely professional , courteous , Andy & all are first class . I did a few of these before and this one was the best.

Pick your flyover from 8 to 20 minutes and enjoy ! Plus you get your ride on dvd for bragging rights !



Visited September 2014

Trip Advisor

Had an absolutely great time. Andy the pilot, and Stephanie(hope I got that right) were super. Would highly recommend them to anyone who wants to fly in an old biplane.

Trip Advisor

My husband's birthday present and he really enjoyed it. The bi-plane ride was smooth and the tour allowed him to see amazing views of the ocean, bay, dunes, & other memorable OBX sites. He would definitley do it again. The staff was great and the red bi-plane is beautiful. No other experience quite like it. Thanks B.I. Aviation for a Great adventure!



Visited September 2014

Trip Advisor

This place is great and very friendly staff!! We've been here twice . The first time was 2 years ago. That time we only had 2 kids (8&2) and they both went up in a Cessna with their dad. The 2 year old fell asleep shortly after take off...but our 8 year old and my husband loved it. Which brings us to this year. We now have 4 kids (11m.,23m.,4 and 10). My husband has been wanting to fly in the red bi plane we see flying over the beach a lot for a long time. So this year he got he chance . The bi plane can only take 2 passengers so our 10 year old went with him. Being in an open cockpit I wasn't sure how he'd do ...but after landing , I found out they both LOVED it!! The staff was very friendly even taking pictures of all of us by the plane . Upon leaving the lady there( I forget her name but she was younger with blonde and black hair and extremely nice and helpful) informed us that we could get a DVD of our flight ,no extra charge ,...I gave her my number and she called us when it was ready for pick up. If you want to fly on obx than these are the people to see!! We will be back next year....see you guys then:)

Trip Advisor

Amazing experience flying over the Outer Banks in a WWII bi-plane! Our pilot, Andy, made it a great experience. Not to be missed when visiting the Outer Banks!

Trip Advisor

Great folks at Barrier Island Aviation. I rented their C172K model and took up the family for a ride down the beach. Very friendly and professional. I would highly recommend them if you are considering renting a plane during a vacation. Keith

Trip Advisor

Bottom line: Make a point to share your patronage with these good folks, starting with the lovely Stephanie at the front desk, through to the superb hangar crew and finally into the cockpit of the venerable WACO with the ever-capable Andy Rosman. They're the best! :-)

Trip Advisor


If you think the views of the Outer Banks are great from the beach, well, then you should see them from the air in a biplane! We booked a flight on Sunday, August 10, 2014 and we had the time of our lives. The plane is beautiful and it’s so much fun riding in the front and listening to Andy narrate the flight. The views are spectacular from the air. Andy and Sidney were easy to work with and if you follow the aquarium signs off 64 in Manteo it’s easy to find. Don’t miss this adventure when visiting the Outer Banks! Anita & Bob Faurot (Warrenton, VA)



Visited August 2014

Trip Advisor

This past year I enjoyed my second ride around Manteo and Kitty Hawk with Andy of Barrier Island Aviation. I love flying but the historic aspect of the biplane and flying over the Wright Brothers memorial made this experience even more special. The ride is a wonderful gift for any history or aviation enthusiast.

Trip Advisor


My husband and his 10-year-old daughter went on their second open-cockpit biplane just this past June, 2014. They did the same trip last year, and he and I went a couple years or so before that. All three trips were everything we had hoped. You fly out over the ocean, to see ship wrecks, and around the area, and the whole time the pilot (I'm sorry, I can't remember his name) kind of gives a tour and narrates what you're seeing. I believe he actually owns the two biplanes used for these particular tours himself. My husband is an antique aviation buff, especially WWII warbirds, and loves to talk with the pilot about the aircraft and its history. The place itself, at the Dare County Airport, is casual and laid back( the pilot brings his dog to work with him and she just kind of hangs around with you if you're waiting for someone on a flight, like I was), and everybody is very friendly. The whole experience of open cockpit flight is well worth it, and combining that with flying over the Outer Banks, which is my absolute favorite place on earth, is, as stated above, AWESOME!!!



Visited June 2014

Trip Advisor

We really enjoyed the excitement of riding in an open cockpit, historic biplane while viewing the breath taking scenery of the outer banks areas around Hatteras or over to Wright brothers first flight area in Kill Devil Hills with Barrier Island Aviation. Outstanding views of the beaches, marshes, ocean, etc. Passengers are supplied with leather flight hats containing built in ear phones to enable passengers to hear from the pilot all about the scenery, points of interest, underwater ship wrecks, historical areas, etc. We took one 35 minute tour and enjoyed it so much we immediately requested a second tour and took off again! Highly enjoyable and not to be missed if you are in the area!! Biplanes kept in top condition and the pilot was very experienced. Travel tip: Schedule your flight directly with Barrier Island Aviation (not through another service) to avoid any schedule mishaps!
Visited October 2013

Trip Advisor

This was my second time up in the biplane. The first time was so AWESOME. It was the highlight of my trip to the Outer Banks. This time was just as great. Enjoyed hearing about what we were seeing and seeing the beauty of the area. Everyone at the airfield was friendly and helpful right down to the official greater "Jelly". This is a must do when visiting the OBX. Will definitely consider a Third trip up. May even make this an annual event !

—November 11, 2013

Trip Advisor

What can I say about this except SUPERB!!!!!!!!! We took the 20 min flight in the 1939 Biplane and what a great flight. My wife and I were taken very good care of by our pilot Andy and through the flight we had the narrative from him on the various historic locations below us. We really enjoyed looking the part with our Snoopy Helmets.

We flew over the Wright memorial which we visited on the ground the day before. We also flew over the coastline where you would be able to see 2 shipwrecks on a calm day but as we had heavy surf we were not able to.

We did not care anyway as we had the time of our lives flying around in such a historic aircraft.
This is a must do activity if you want to see the Outer Banks at its finest.

—April 23, 2014

Trip Advisor

My daughter and I took the 35 minute flight. It was not long enough!! If you are thinking about doing this do not opt out for the shorter flight. Andy, the pilot was so friendly and made a point of scouting out the dolphins below and other things. Once something is spotted, hang on because he will make a great banking turn which will give you the thrill of a lifetime as the horizon pivots before your eyes. I highly recommend this tour.

—May 2014

Trip Advisor

I can't stress enough how cool the bi plane tour was! Andy was excellent, as usual, and we will be doing this again! I hope everyone has the chance to do this!

—May 30, 2014

Trip Advisor

Wonderful experience!!! Definitely choose the longer flight it provides such a distinctive perspective of OBX. Will return for another trip .

—May 31, 2014

Trip Advisor

My husband and his 10-year-old daughter went on their second open-cockpit biplane just this past June, 2014. They did the same trip last year, and he and I went a couple years or so before that. All three trips were everything we had hoped. You fly out over the ocean, to see ship wrecks, and around the area, and the whole time the pilot (I'm sorry, I can't remember his name) kind of gives a tour and narrates what you're seeing. I believe he actually owns the two biplanes used for these particular tours himself. My husband is an antique aviation buff, especially WWII warbirds, and loves to talk with the pilot about the aircraft and its history. The place itself, at the Dare County Airport, is casual and laid back( the pilot brings his dog to work with him and she just kind of hangs around with you if you're waiting for someone on a flight, like I was), and everybody is very friendly. The whole experience of open cockpit flight is well worth it, and combining that with flying over the Outer Banks, which is my absolute favorite place on earth, is, as stated above, AWESOME!!!

Trip Advisor